An introduction

That… Wasn’t what I meant to write about. I feel like I should start with an introduction. In the Vault we learned about people in the old days, before the war, who used to write about their lives. Some of them wrote about big things, some of them wrote about ordinary things while big things happened around them. I think I’m quite ordinary, but I sort of think maybe I’d like to write something people will want to read. There’s the book with Moira, of course, but that’s a bit different. Practical stuff. This is just me. So, I may as well say who I am.

I’m Mae. 19 years old, lived in Vault 101 all my life. I think… I’ve been hearing differently, though. But as long as I can remember, anyway. Maybe since before I could walk? Vault 101 is near Washington D.C. which used to be the capital of America. Now it’s… scary. God, I sound like a baby, but I have to be brave when I’m out there, I think it’s okay to be a little scared when I’m back at home.

Now I live in Megaton, what passes for a town these days, I guess. Probably wouldn’t be safe if it were any bigger, although for the life of me I don’t know why they built it around a goddamn bomb! Wasn’t even that hard to disarm, and I can hardly throw a grenade straight. Still, it’s great to look up and see the sky, not be cramped in those little tunnels. I don’t sleep well in the open, though, and I try to avoid it.

I’m not sure there’s much more to say about me. I’m scrawny, I cut my hair short when I left the Vault, I like sweetrolls, I don’t much like Mirelurks. I’m going to try to sleep now, tomorrow I’ll start keeping this thing properly, not sure whether to say anything about what’s happened since I left the Vault, or just start from tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

